New Fuel Economy Test Methods for 2015 Models

As of 2015, NRCan is implementing a new testing procedure known as 5-cycle testing for new vehicles. This will be a complete transition from the 2-cycle testing procedure to which 2014 and prior models were subjected. How does this change affect you as a consumer? The EnerGuide label found on new cars, a standard set by the Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) Fuel Consumption Guide, helps people feel secure in choosing an energy efficient vehicle that fits their lifestyle.

When you walk into a dealership, you’ll see the EnerGuide labels on Model Year 2015 vehicles, but those labels will feature different fuel consumption ratings from previous models. The new 5-cycle testing uses a more accurate methodology to give consumers a better idea how vehicles actually perform in both city and highway driving conditions.

With this more precise testing, fuel consumption may appear 10-20% higher, but this is actually not the case: 2015 vehicles do not consume more fuel than the comparable 2014 vehicle under the same driving conditions.

The following labels show an example of how ratings for the same vehicle will likely change based on the new test methods.

Model Year 2014
Model Year 2015

The chart below is an example to help illustrate how the 2015 models measure up to the older testing methods for energy efficiency.


2015 QX50

L/100KM
MPG

City Hwy Comb. City Hwy
2-Cycle 12.1 8.2 10.4 23 34
5-Cycle 13.7 9.7 11.9 21 29

We want to ensure you have all the information you need to make an informed decision when purchasing a car. For additional information on this new testing method, please visit the NRCan Fuel Consumption Testing website.

NOUVELLES MÉTHODES D’ESSAI SUR LA CONSOMMATION DE CARBURANT DES MODÈLES 2015

À compter de 2015, RNCan mettra en oeuvre une nouvelle procédure d'essai appelée les essais à 5 cycles pour les véhicules neufs. Ceci représente une transition complète de la méthode d'essai à 2 cycles à laquelle les modèles 2014 et antérieurs étaient soumis. Quelles seront les implications de ce changement pour vous ? L'étiquette ÉnerGuide que l'on retrouve sur les véhicules neufs, une norme établie par le Guide de consommation de carburant de Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan), aide à rassurer les consommateurs lorsqu’ils choisissent un véhicule éconergétique correspondant à leur style de vie.

Lorsque vous visitez un concessionnaire, vous remarquerez les étiquettes ÉnerGuide apposées sur des véhicules 2015. Ces étiquettes, cependant, indiqueront des cotes de consommation différentes de celles des modèles des années précédentes. Les nouveaux essais à 5 cycles adoptent une méthodologie plus précise afin de donner aux consommateurs un aperçu plus représentatif de la consommation actuelle des véhicules dans des conditions de conduite en ville et sur la route.

Avec ces essais plus précis, les cotes de consommation pourraient sembler de 10 à 20 % moins bonnes, ce qui n'est cependant pas le cas : un véhicule 2015 ne consomme pas davantage de carburant qu'un véhicule 2014 comparable dans les mêmes conditions de conduite.

Les étiquettes suivantes indiquent les changements observables attribuables aux nouvelles méthodes d’essai relativement aux cotes pour un même véhicule.

Année modèle 2014
Année modèle 2015

Le tableau ci-dessous est donné à titre d'exemple afin d'illustrer comment un modèle 2015 se compare à l'ancienne méthode d'essai permettant d'établir le rendement éconergétique.


2015 QX50

L/100KM
MPG

City Hwy Comb. City Hwy
2-Cycle 12.1 8.2 10.4 23 34
5-Cycle 13.7 9.7 11.9 21 29

Nous tenons à nous assurer que ayez en main tous les renseignements nécessaires afin de prendre une décision éclairée lors de l'achat d'un véhicule. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur cette nouvelle méthode d'essai, veuillez visiter le site Web des essais sur la consommation de carburant de RNCan..