Project Black S Concept

Dare to Evolve

Born on the track, made for the road. Project Black S represents what’s possible when hybrid technology is harnessed for its full potential. With this daring concept, INFINITI and the Renault F1TM Team are pushing the bounds of F1TM technologies – setting a new standard for future INFINITI coupes.

INFINITI Q60 Black S sports concept car Renault

A Partnership in Performance

The body of a coupe. The beating heart of a race car. Project Black S is an evolving collaboration between INFINITI and the Renault F1TM Team. Now in its second incarnation, this cutting-edge prototype remains at the centre of our powertrain innovations, paving the way for an electrified future.

“A collaborative venture between INFINITI and the Renault F1TM Team, the Project Black S prototype is a testbed for new ideas and technologies, demonstrating how our Alliance partnerships could make our ambitious visions a reality.”


Roland Krueger, former President, INFINITI

The Power of Electrification

Project Black S demonstrates INFINITI’s commitment to developing high-performance electrified powertrains. The dual hybrid Energy Recovery System lies at the heart of it all. Engineered for F1TM race cars, this system harvests kinetic and heat energy for instant electric torque and lag-free acceleration.

INFINITI Q60 Black S sports concept car F1 powertrain

Energy Unleashed

A 536-horsepower V6 engine makes this race-inspired concept a formidable force at every turn. With the Energy Recovery System, Project Black S delivers more power and acceleration than ever before. Now, it has the potential to revolutionize the way next-generation INFINITI vehicles perform on the road.

INFINITI Q60 Black S sports concept car with the brake-by-wire system

Stop in an Instant

With immediate off-the-line acceleration, Project Black S also stops on a dime. The brake-by-wire system and carbon ceramic discs provide greater control at high-speed for a confident, consistent braking sensation.

“While still a prototype, this dual hybrid system is a world first, harvesting both heat and kinetic energy, under braking and acceleration. By intelligently scavenging and recycling energy, the hybrid performance from the Project Black S powertrain would be smart, sustained and utterly satisfying to deploy.”


Francois Bancon, Vice President Motorsport and Connected Vehicle, INFINITI

Shaped by Performance

Project Black S is the ultimate expression of INFINITI DNA. Strong and sleek, it balances Q60’s artistic curves with enhanced sports design. Its taught, angular lines telegraph relentless performance on and off the track. And with sculpted carbon fiber bodywork, this aerodynamic exterior is also light on its feet.

INFINITI Q60 Black S sports concept car hood designed for optimum airflow

Optimal Airflow

With perfectly placed vents and louvres, this exterior is designed to keep high-temperature components cool. Its precise aero styling works to guide airflow where it’s needed most for optimal performance.

INFINITI Q60 Black S sports concept car with F1 rear wing

Hold the Road

Providing more downforce and greater aero efficiency, the rear wing is inspired by the Renault F1TM Team’s race car. Crafted with purpose, it reduces drag, so Project Black S glides forward with a firm grip on the road.


A Visceral Experience

This striking two-seat interior is designed to bring out a driver’s potential. Inspired by motorsport, each seat is designed to cushion the human form. Their stark yellow accents add an energizing shot of contrast to the enhanced Q60 cockpit.

The striking interior cockpit of the INFINITI Q60 Black S sports concept car The striking interior cockpit of the INFINITI Q60 Black S sports concept car

The Project Black S Journey

Since its debut at the 2017 Geneva design study, Project Black S has continued to advance. With the latest iteration of this track-inspired prototype, INFINITI and the Renault F1TM Team are making daring new strides towards electrified performance.

INFINITI Q60 Black S sports concept car pictures clay

“This partnership is as much about exploring efficient new production processes as it is about creating ground-breaking new powertrains.”


Francois Bancon, Vice President Motorsport and Connected Vehicle, INFINITI

2018 INFINITI Q60 sports concept car pictures head lights grill 2018 INFINITI Q60 sports concept car pictures head lights grill

2018 Q60

The Heart of Our Venture

While you can’t get behind the wheel of Project Black S, the 2018 Q60 Coupe is on the road now. With an available 3.0-litre twin-turbo V6 and up to 400 horsepower, Q60 is bound to get your heart racing.

Concept de Project
Black S

Osez évoluer

Née sur la piste. Faite pour la route. La Project Black S représente ce qui est possible lorsque la technologie hybride est exploitée à son plein potentiel. Avec ce concept audacieux, INFINITI et l'équipe Renault F1MD Team repoussent les limites des technologies de la F1MD et établissent une nouvelle référence pour les futurs coupés INFINITI.

INFINITI Q60 Black S sports concept car Renault

Un partenariat au service de la performance

L’allure d'un coupé. Le cœur d'une voiture de course. La Project Black S est le fruit d’une collaboration en constante évolution entre INFINITI et l'équipe Renault F1MD Team. Aujourd'hui dans sa deuxième incarnation, ce prototype novateur reste au centre de nos innovations du groupe motopropulseur, ouvrant la voie à un avenir électrifié.

« Né du partenariat entre INFINITI et l'équipe Renault F1MD Team, le prototype de la Project Black S est un banc d'essai pour de nouvelles idées et technologies. Il prouve à quel point les projets menés en commun au sein de l’Alliance peuvent concrétiser nos ambitions. »


Roland Krueger, ancien président, INFINITI

La puissance de l'électrification.

La Project Black S démontre l'engagement d'INFINITI à développer des groupes motopropulseurs électrifiés de haute performance. Le système de récupération d'énergie double-hybride est au cœur de tout cela. Conçu pour les voitures de course de la F1MD, ce système tire profit de l'énergie cinétique et de l’énergie thermique pour procurer un couple électrique instantané et une accélération immédiate.

INFINITI Q60 Black S sports concept car F1 powertrain

Énergie libérée

Un moteur V6 de 536 chevaux fait de ce concept inspiré de la course une force hors du commun à chaque virage. Avec le système de récupération d'énergie, la Project Black S offre davantage de puissance et d'accélération que jamais auparavant. Aujourd'hui, ce système peut révolutionner la façon dont les véhicules INFINITI de la nouvelle génération se comportent sur la route.

INFINITI Q60 Black S sports concept car with the brake-by-wire system

S’arrête en un clin d'œil

Avec une accélération immédiate en départ arrêté, la Project Black S s'arrête pile. Le système de frein à commande électrique et les disques en carbone céramique offrent davantage de maîtrise et de précision à haute vitesse pour un freinage sûr et constant.

« Bien qu'il s'agisse encore d'un prototype, ce système double-hybride est une première mondiale, il permet de récupérer à la fois l’énergie thermique et l’énergie cinétique, au freinage comme à l'accélération. Parce qu’elles récupèrent et recyclent intelligemment l’énergie, les performances hybrides du groupe motopropulseur de la Project Black S pourraient être exploitées de manière durable, intelligente et extrêmement satisfaisante. »


François Bancon, vice-président, Motorsport et Connected Vehicle, INFINITI

Performance sublimée par le design

La Project Black S est l'expression ultime de l'ADN INFINITI. Robuste et élégante, elle conjugue les lignes esthétiques de la Q60 et un design sportif amélioré. Ses lignes tendues et angulaires transmettent des performances constantes sur la piste et sur la route. Et avec sa carrosserie sculptée en fibre de carbone, l’extérieur aérodynamique contribue à son agilité.

INFINITI Q60 Black S sports concept car hood designed for optimum airflow

Circulation d'air maximisée

Avec ses prises d’air et ses grilles d’aération parfaitement placées, cet extérieur est conçu pour garder au frais les composants à haute température. Son style aérodynamique précis permet de guider la circulation d'air là où ça compte pour une performance optimale.

INFINITI Q60 Black S sports concept car with F1 rear wing

Pour bien tenir la route

L'aileron arrière s'inspire des voitures de course de l'équipe Renault F1MD Team, pour offrir une portance négative plus efficace et une plus grande efficacité aérodynamique. Il permet de réduire la traînée, ce qui propulse la Project Black S vers l'avant avec une bonne adhérence sur la route.


Une expérience viscérale

Ce remarquable habitacle à deux places est conçu pour mettre en valeur le potentiel d'un conducteur. Inspiré des sports motorisés, chaque siège est conçu pour épouser la forme du corps. Leurs accents d'un jaune vif ajoutent un contraste énergisant à l'habitacle amélioré de la Q60.

The striking interior cockpit of the INFINITI Q60 Black S sports concept car The striking interior cockpit of the INFINITI Q60 Black S sports concept car

Le parcours de la Project Black S

Depuis ses débuts lors de la présentation du design en 2017 à Genève, la Project Black S n'a cessé de progresser. Avec la dernière version de ce prototype inspiré des voitures de course, INFINITI et l'équipe Renault F1MD Team, font de nouveaux pas audacieux vers la performance électrique.

INFINITI Q60 Black S sports concept car pictures clay

« Ce partenariat vise autant à explorer de nouveaux processus de production efficaces qu’à créer des groupes motopropulseurs révolutionnaires. »


François Bancon, vice-président, Motorsport et Connected Vehicle, INFINITI

2017 INFINITI QX70 Crossover AVM (Around View Monitor) 2017 INFINITI QX70 Crossover AVM (Around View Monitor)

Q60 2018

Le cœur de notre projet

Bien que vous ne puissiez pas prendre le volant de la Project Black S, vous pouvez déjà conduire la Q60 2018, son inspiration. Avec un moteur V6 biturbo 3 L de 400 chevaux livrable, la Q60 ne peut que vous tenir en haleine.